Chipotle Hummus? Yes, Please!

I don’t have any photos which is such a blogger no-no. But I had to share this new recipe…or at least (another) new twist on an old favourite.

Hummus.

We all love the hummus don’t we. (That’s right, it’s not a question people. It’s a statement. We. All. Love. The. Hummus.)

Favourites can become mundane after awhile though, can’t they? Yes, even hummus. Not mundane enough that I could ever contemplate ceasing to make it on a semi-weekly basis but every creation needs a little TLC, a make-over if you will, every once in awhile. And for our hummus it was time.

Inspiration struck while BBQ-ing at a cousin’s place recently. She added a little smoked paprika and cumin to her homemade hummus (along with a couple other spices). And wow, did it have kick! Not throw-back-a-glass-of-almond-milk kick but enough to make a Mama snap to attention and ask, what the heck is in that stuff!

Enter above spices.

I got home with great plans to hit the store, grab the smoked paprika (which I have never had on my spice shelf but really should) and blend up a batch. Sadly, the smoked paprika would charge the Mastercard four times what the regular old joe-shmoe paprika would cost.

I couldn’t justify it.

So, I bought a bag of chill powder, paprika, and went home to add cumin to these two additions in hopes of mimicking her incredible dip. (I added about 2-3 tsp of each.)

No dice.

A little discouraged, I wracked my brain for a way to imitate a side dish I was still re-living. (It was that good. No, I’m not exaggerating.)

Canned chipotles!!

I opened and pureed a can several weeks ago and as Rachael instructs us during her commercials, I had spooned what I didn’t need into a little ziplock and froze it nice and flat in the freezer.

I added about 1/2 – 3/4 tsp of the pureed chipotle to the already-spiced-with-paprika-garlic salt-chili-powder hummus. I didn’t want it overpowering and wanted the small children to enjoy it, too! Plus, I could always add more.

Oh. My. Gracious.

If you do nothing else productive this week, do this.

Chipotle Hummus is where it’s at.

Not too unlike chipotle mayo (um, yum!) it packs a punch not only in the flavour department but moreover in the land of health and nutrition. It was fantastic with our cut veggies but also with whole grain organic brown rice cakes. Incredible!

You’re welcome!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

