Wee Hands Help: Making Breakfast!

Recently, I challenged my other half with a  lifestyle change: eliminate grains. There was no great need but I included in my challenge, words something like “I think you would love a few pounds without lifting a finger”.

He took the bait!

Diagnosed with a wheat and corn allergy several years ago, I have done my best to avoid most carbs. Indulging from time to time would leave me suffering, so my diet was mainly Paleo…but I was alone in this lifestyle. I was also not as committed as I should have been.

After reading  Wheat Belly (Dr William Davis), I now had the research and literature to encourage me! Eliminating grains and sugars temporarily wouldn’t be that hard, would it? Several months later, many little lifestyle changes culminated into a more healthy lifestyle and fifteen pounds less of my man! He’s a rockstar.

One of the seemingly biggest hurdles would be breakfast. As in many households, time does not abound here in the mornings. I had to devise a quick make-ahead breakfast that he would both enjoy and enjoy quickly. Enter Wheat Belly. I found a recipe at the tail end of the book which we have now significantly tailored to suit our family and our taste buds – and of course the new Paleo-ish lifestyle. He loves it because of the taste and the fact that it keeps him going. I love it because I can make it quickly, it doesn’t break the bank, it’s super healthy and full of protein, and the house smells like a cinnamon rolls while it’s baking. The kids think it’s fantastic with a little almond or coconut milk, too! The other reason I am drawn to it? No measuring…which means our little people (there are three of them in this house) can help. Heck, they could make it alone if I let them!

I’ve included measurements as a guideline but no one batch of our granola is like another. A small child’s hand can be equivalent to two tablespoons or as much as a quarter cup. Let your tastebuds guide your measuring skills!

Wee Hands Help Granola

  • 3/4 cup organic flax meal
  • 3/4 cup organic rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup raisins (or other non-sweetened dried fruit)
  • 1/2 cup organic unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup organic sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup organic sesame seeds
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup raw organic chopped walnuts or almonds or cashews (more if you like!)
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil or liquid coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup honey (maple syrup would be great here or unsweetened organic apple juice)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all dry ingredients in a 9×11 pyrex baking dish. Stir to mix. Drizzle oil and honey (or substitute) over top and mix until evenly coated. If the granola seems slightly dry, add a little more oil or honey – whichever you prefer. Don’t over saturate…those are unnecessary calories and the granola will only become harder to remove once baked! Pat the mixture down in the pyrex dish, gently. Pop it in the oven and bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until the edges begin to brown. Remove granola from the oven and allow it to cool for an hour. Use a knife to slide along the bottom of the dish and break up the granola.

Try not to eat it all in one sitting. That’s the biggest challenge of the whole meal! No really.

Small changes add up. Changing an eating and dietary lifestyle can be hard, even if it’s for the better. Setting small goals such as adding more protein to breakfast and excluding carbs is such an easy way to start. It sets you up for the day and starts you out on the right foot.


This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

