No Egg. No Sugar. 5 Banana Bread. Yum.

I was out of eggs the other day but the freezer was starting to stink of banana. Plus, who doesn’t love a quick and easy bread for the kids. It’s summer and this seemed like the perfect snack. Over-ripe bananas can always be purchased half price which makes this a super budget friendly snack.  Enter google and I found myself a quick and easy recipe.

I must say, I was shocked and dismayed that nearly every recipe called for either 3/4 – 1 cup of white sugar or/and shortening. Really? Shortening and white sugar. Common people!

I find eliminating sugar to be the easiest of any ingredient to scratch from the list. Often it needs replacing of some sort but it’s not a staple such as milk or butter. My solution: add an extra banana. This recipe already called for four of them and mine were average in size but way average in the stinky department. And, if you’re banana bread savvy you will know that more stinky equals more flavour (and sweetness!).

So I threw in five!

The recipients little people sang my praises and I was in the good books until at least lunch time.

The recipe originates here, but this is my no sugar version:

No Egg, No Sugar, Banana Bread

5 way over-ripe bananas, mashed

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/4 cup flax meal

1/2 cup butter (real!)

1/2 cup buttermilk*

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

pinch salt

Directions:

Preheat over to 350. Mix bananas with melted butter. Add buttermilk and vanilla – mix. Add flour, flax, baking soda, salt and stir until just combined. The dough will be a bit thick but don’t worry! The loaf comes out fluffy. Pour into greased loaf pan and bake for 45-55 minutes (until browned…this will depend upon the size of your loaf pan, they all vary a bit).

*I never have buttermilk so I make it as I go by removing 1 tbsp of the milk called for in the recipe and adding 1 tbsp of lemon juice. Allow it to sit for a minute or so and watch it curdle. That’s how it should be!

I love adding chopped walnuts, or berries to our loaves. They add great flavour, natural sweetness, moisture, fibre and all sorts of vitamins!

If in a time crunch, these make great muffins as they only need to bake for half the time mentioned above. The recipe above yielded eight large and a dozen mini muffins.

Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No Egg. No Sugar. 5 Banana Bread. Yum.

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe! =)

  2. Candice says:

    I just made these muffins this morning and they were deeeelicious! Thank you so much for sharing your awesome recipes.
    Just as a side note I have found that adding the juice and rind of one orange in lieu of sugar when I’m making banana bread is a delicious way to add the perfect amount of sweet flavour. 🙂

    • Ashleigh says:

      Thanks Candice! I often add applesauce but have never tried juice and the rind sounds like an awesome twist. (Cinnamon and nutmeg are well received around here!) Appreciate the suggestion!!

Leave a Reply

