No Potato Salad

We had ribs the other night.

Yum.

Have I ever shared about my absolute knock-you me-off-your my-feet love for ribs? No? Well, there it is. A near obsession it’s so bad. Plus, it’s of the pork family which is the same family from which bacon finds it’s origins, so how could it possibly be bad!

I digress.

Along with the ribs, I wanted a side other than homemade sweet potato fries. I just wasn’t in the mood to peel, slice, lightly oil, salt/pepper, and bake sweet potatoes. Not sure why, but I just wasn’t feelin’ it.

I had, however, purchased a head of cauliflower and a jar of dijon in anticipation of making a No Potato Salad at some point in the near future…I just didn’t realize it would be this soon. It’s pretty easy on the wallet, too. A large head of cauliflower set us back $1.47, a couple tbsp of dijon and mayo cost pennies (ok, maybe nickels…did you hear – they aren’t making pennies anymore!), and two eggs…and well, I bought 2 1/2 dozen extra large eggs for $6 so I’ll let you do the math on that one. The onion probably cost me a dime. It stretched through our supper as a side and for two more sides and one main dish at lunch the next day. That’s pretty great, I think.

This is a great alternative for those wanting to decrease their carb intake, increase their veggie intake, or simply just make something different. I found the origin for the recipe I used here. And actually, her site looks fantastic…I’ll have to visit it again soon.

I made ours as follows:

No Potato Salad

1 head cauliflower

1 onion

2 eggs

3 tbsp mayonaise

1 1/2 tbsp dijon mustard

1 tsp salt

1 tsp paprika

Directions:

Chop cauliflower into 1/2 inch pieces. Chop onion. Chop hard boiled eggs (noticing a pattern here?…I never claimed to be a genius) and add to them the mayo, mustard, salt, and paprika. Mix all ingredients and serve.

What I will do differently next time:

I didn’t have any celery but I would make sure to have some on hand. Alternatively, I think chopped fresh spinach or a hearty lettuce (arugula!) would be great in here.

I would only add 1/2 onion unless it’s a mild one. I’m still tasting it from the leftovers I had at lunch today. I know you needed that information.

I would not add the dried oregano that I added this time. (I so disliked it that I left it out of the ingredients list above.) Fresh herbs, sure (oh! chives would be delicious) but leave out the dried stuff it won’t help. Trust me.

The original recipe calls for the cauliflower to be steamed briefly. I did this but I don’t think it’s necessary at all and the last time (actually, the first and only other time) I had it at a friend’s, it was raw and just perfect.

Honestly? The only other thing I would do would be to cook up a couple slices of bacon until they were nice and crispy and throw them in. Seriously. Every.Thing.Is.Better.With.Bacon. It would add a bit of saltiness without adding too much extra salt, too. I realize I’m stating the obvious here.

Enjoy! I’m looking forward to making this again with all the suggestions I just made above. But maybe you can beat me to the punch!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Potato Salad

  1. Katie says:

    Nice! 🙂 I am developing a new appreciation for cauliflower, as it is so versatile! I’ll be trying this recipe.

  2. Sharon says:

    I will be making this one…maybe later today. Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

