Peas And Beans And Bacon

I’ll admit that lately I’ve been in a real meal slump. I feel as though I’m serving a lot of repeats and while there are no complaints, it just gets mundane…you know?!

I wanted something (to make and serve!) for supper tonight. (Oh, did I not mention it was 4:20pm and we had to eat at 5:00pm because it’s a baseball night!) I also wanted to use up a couple things in the fridge on their way to limp-land (i.e.: celery) and slime-ville (i.e.: mushrooms).

I contemplated breakfast for supper…which is always a sure fire pleaser. Omelets with sautéed mushrooms, celery (no one knows whether it’s onions or celery if chopped finely and) mixed with a little cheddar or feta. Of course bacon and maybe even pancakes, as eggs don’t sit well in the belly of one 5 year old. I’ll spare you the colourful details.

Breakfast for supper just felt, in my mind, like a lot of dishes to wash after.

But bacon! Everything’s wonderful with bacon! Everyone loves anything made with bacon!

So bacon became my inspiration.

I sautéed small pieces of bacon (about 3/4 cup), celery sliced thinly(about 3 stalks), and an onion chopped finely (medium, yellow). After the juices had released and the celery and onions were translucent, I added my sliced mushrooms. I threw in about 1 1/2 tsp cumin to enhance the smoky flavour of the bacon, pepper for a bit of spice, and a pinch of salt as the saltiness of the bacon was quite masked by the veggies. I allowed the mushrooms to cook down until I could see they had absorbed the juices of the other ingredients. Then, I added my can of garlic tomato sauce. I put the lid on the pan, reduced the heat to low and allowed it all to mellow out together.

While the sauce was simmering, I cooked a pot of spaghetti for the kiddos. Also, for those not having gluten I cooked up a batch of vermicelli. This isn’t any old vermicelli though. No no. This stuff is made of…can you tell?

can you see it?…

That’s right peas and beans, people! Well, green beans, peas, and water if you want to get ornery about it. (I find this little treasure in the Asian section of our local grocery store and honest to goodness it’s paydirt.)

About 3 minutes before I was about the dish up our yummy looking supper, I chopped up about 1 1/2 cups of fresh spinach and threw it in the tomato (etc) pan. This gave it enough time to absorb moisture but not too much time to hang out- which would have allowed it to shrivel into wilted spots of green.

I plated the spaghetti (ah hem, vermicelli) and spooned the tomato sauce on top being careful only to pick out and eat a few pieces of the bacon and then crumbled a lot proportional amount of feta on top of each serving.

Honestly, I cringed slightly at the anticipation of the uproar upon seeing something green in the tomato, bacon, onion/celery, mushroom sauce. But all I heard were words of thanks and gratefulness at the yumminess of the meal. And get this: one five year old even announced his pleasure (!!) at the sight and enjoyment of the green stuff! (Apparently being sent to his room for some quality time with his Lego but instead falling asleep for a 20 minute power nap before supper did him good. Merciful, merciful power naps.)

So, there you have it. Gluten free, wheat belly, Paleo and if you omit the bacon (which is just not optional in my mind…but whatever) vegetarian, too. Oh and fantabulously delicious!!!

You’re welcome.

(And I apologize for the lack of photographic content…it was gobbled up too quickly to snap any photos!)

We gobbled down supper with a side of fresh, raw veggies (carrots, celery, cucumber, and red peppers) and some deliciously fresh hummus.

How do you know when Mama’s making hummus?

Ah, the sweet hum of an ancient blender doing it’s best to puree chickpeas and tahini.

(She’s learned that the end result is well worth the noise.)

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peas And Beans And Bacon

  1. Katie says:

    I SO admire your creativity in the kitchen! I am slowly (but surely!) working towards keeping the fridge and pantry stocked with interchangeable real food so I can cook like this.

Leave a Reply

