Happy Referralversary

It is.

It’s our Referralversary.

It’s been one year.

In some ways it feels longer – so very much has changed.

But in many ways, it feels like just yesterday. Not to sound cliche. Though I know it does.

I recall where I was standing in that park. I recall what I had packed for the boys’ picnic lunch and how it was nearly killing me but I was doing my darndest to make the best of a really really hard (wait) situation. I recall the brief nanosecond during which I wondered if my cell was ringing because it was our moment. Our call. I recall in that same brief nanosecond suppressing the urge to answer with a slightly annoyed tone, as I assumed I knew who would actually be on the other end.

I was wrong.

And it was our moment. Our call. Our life changing moment.

And though the seconds after hitting the “talk” button are a blur, in so many ways they are as vivid as you could possibly imagine. I recall the churning in the pit of my stomach. Three and a half years culminating in one moment. I recall the softness of the voice on the other end of the line. I remember with ache and joy mixing like oil and water the searing pain of tears as they swelled and then rolled down my cheeks. I recall racing home to be four in order that we could see, come to know, imprint everything we could about the being who would make us five.

And, it was the day – May 5, 2011 – when we did truly become five.

A judge didn’t decide that. Well, I guess technically she did. Three months to the day she would decide that we were Five. But that day three months earlier our family changed, we grew.

And all the waiting, aching, pressing on, praying, wondering, hoping, seeking…in so many ways it was over.

And so today we celebrate our first of so very many Referralversaries. With the most amazing joy.

With the most amazing little girl.

We call her Ours.

We call her Beautiful.

She was gifted to us through great Mercy.

This. This is family.

This is our life.

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Referralversary

  1. Nanette says:

    Ashleigh, I love your story, your beautiful family and your blog. Look forward to reading more! If you ever make it down to San Diego, ca, I would love to see you all! Nanette

    • Ashleigh says:

      Thank you so much!! 🙂 I was thinking of you and praying for you this past week!
      We were actually just in Palm Springs in March but I’m sure we’ll be back in Cali soon…love that heat.
      Take care

  2. tycobeans says:

    Wow, That was also OUR refferalversary! But this year was 2 years. Congratulations! I’m now going to read through more of your posts.

    http://peanutbutterinjerasandwiches.wordpress.com/2012/05/05/refferal/

Leave a Reply

