Eat Your Bowl

Fajitas (sans wrap/shell for those non-gluten folk) needed a twist the other night. So I turned them into bowls. I’d attempted this once before after seeing it done and the method used in that instance was to make a foil ball in order to bake and transform the tortilla shell into a bowl. That just seems like a waste to me. Theoretically I could have re-used (or at least recycled) the tin foil but I don’t have oodles of spare time and the thought of flattening a ball of tin foil just didn’t appeal. Shocking, I know.

That plate of veggies sits in the centre of our table every.single.night at supper. It's a simple way to increase the veggie intake as it is served in addition to whatever veggies are already in the meal.

Bowls were too wide at the base and I didn’t think a drinking glass would withstand heat. And then it hit me: canning jars.

Perfect.

Also in the past, I lightly sprayed the tortilla wrap before gently folding it onto the foil. This time I didn’t see the need. And there was none. I simply gently folded the wrap over the base of the (upside down) jar.

And, voila.

Baked at 350 for about 7-10 minutes, I took them out just as the edges were beginning to brown. I put a little lettuce in the bottom so the juices from the beef wouldn’t make the bottom of the tortilla bowl mushy. (Plus, it never hurt a Mama to hide the leafy greens. And it worked! They were all flavoured and yummy by the time little mouths and forks reached the base of the bowl near the end of the meal.)

I chased the (1/4 ish cup of romaine) lettuce with our extra lean ground beef sautéed with  finely chopped onions. (Did you know onions are near the top of the list of really great veggies for you!) Following the meat, I used several dollops of sour cream (full fat…especially great for the wee ones but Balkan yogurt would have been a better choice. Hindsight eh?!). Then I used our guacamole…pulled from the freezer a couple of hours earlier – it tasted as perfect as the day we mashed and froze it!

Following those toppings of course we spooned on a little salsa and then, dumped a load of sprinkled our cheddar.

"Mmmmm, it's crunchy and yummy" was the 5 yr old feedback.
I'll take it!

For the gluten-free/paleo diners.

What’s for supper at your place tonight?

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Eat Your Bowl

  1. Amanda says:

    I was just talking about doing this the other night, when we were eating tacos with crunchy store-bought taco shells – thanks for the how-to!!

  2. ohhhh this is making me hungry! tonight’s supper is hard boiled eggs…….excitng I know…I’m going to try this when I return to Canada!

    • Ashleigh says:

      Your status this morning brought tears (of joy) to my eyes. Parents!!!
      Well no, eggs aren’t that exciting…but they are non-refined, protein-full food. Great little wee bellies…and for the bellies of those taking care of them. 🙂
      I owe you an email.
      Praying for you all the time.

  3. Jenn says:

    Looks GREAT!!! Time to add some stuff to ‘the list’ again 🙂

  4. Ashleigh says:

    I bought my teff the other day. I’ll let you know when I make the injera (and how easy/successful it is) and then pass the recipe along. I have one that is supposed to be amazing. 🙂

  5. emily says:

    This looks so good! Great idea, I definitely want to try this some time!

Leave a Reply

