Sweet Eats

We were invited out for supper the other night. I offered to take a salad and dessert. There were ten of us. Eight average eaters and two babes. That’s a lot of mouths. My goal was Paleo friendly (or gluten free) as several of us are maintaining that lifestyle.

Oh – and it was St Patty’s Day. And, as much as I don’t usually play into these days much (there was some green milk here on Saturday, I will admit), six of the ten of us were little people and I wanted to make it fun.

The salad was easy: Spinach. It doesn’t get much easier (or more green) than that.

Dessert. Ummm, yeah. Have you googled “St Patrick’s Day Paleo Desserts” lately and found anything relatively easy and budget friendly…and super fun?! As I’ve mentioned in the past, I often do things on a whim in the kitchen and while I had known for a day which dishes I would be taking, I didn’t really plan them out.

The one ingredient which prevailed in nearly all the googled recipes (and I swear – though I don’t, often – that there were perhaps a whopping ten recipes which fell within the parameters of those five words) included pistachios. They all included some sort of nut flours also, which I do not have in the pantry.

I had, however, purchased a bunch of green fruit but a fruit salad seemed a little blah.

Regardless, I began chopping the green grapes, kiwi, apples, an orange (the plate needed a little colour!). I then begged kindly asked the small children for their leftover pistachios gifted at Christmas. They obliged. So, I shelled and chopped them.

Then, I peeled a sliced (on the diagonal) a banana.

I drizzled (melted) dark chocolate on the slices, and sprinkled chopped pistachios (green!) on top.

Then I had leftover chocolate.

So I drizzled it over all the fruit over the entire plate of fruit.

Simple and so so sweet. (Green, too!)

And a hit.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Eats

  1. Katie says:

    Nice! 🙂 I actually DID google paleo St. Patty’s desserts as well because we had company over and I was trying to stay on diet for Darryl. 🙂 I didn’t have pistachios though, so I tried a chocolate avocado pudding. It was yucky (too much nutmeg!) Glad yours turned out well!

  2. wartica says:

    I agree; fruits are great for any social gathering, and a lot healthier than the counterparts! Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

Leave a Reply

