Wheat Belly Granola. Tweaked.

More often than not, I’m baking on a whim…ah hem…in a stress-relieving sort of way. I have to bet that had I been some sort of artist (stick-men make up my repertoire),  I could have created some masterpieces during a manic moment. On a dime, I do my best work. Usually. I wanted to make Wheat Belly Granola on, that’s right – a whim, the other day. It could be (is) Paleo, too. And, the basics in the pantry don’t ever include both pecans and cashews, (both of which are called for in my recipe of choice). Interestingly, or perhaps not so much, the other day neither took up space on the shelf. The go-to almonds and walnuts were there, however, with two large bags of flax meal and a container of coconut oil to boot. It was a grain and gluten free moment in the making. I’ve come to learn that with flax, an egg, a little oil (olive or coconut) and nuts, you can pretty much make anything.

Pretty much.

And this granola – it was so so so good. (I’ll go deflate my head now.)

It went like this…

Wheat Belly-ish Granola (a la Ashleigh)

  • 1/2 cup flax meal (ground flax)
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 1 cup almonds (I chop mine sometimes…sometimes not)
  • 1/2 cup walnuts (pieces)
  • 1/4 cup raisins or other dried (non-sweetened) fruit
  • 2-4 tbsp cinnamon (up to your taste buds)
  • 2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • (1/4 cup applesauce – i’ve not used this yet but I think it would be great…it would, however, make the granola much more moist…perhaps a great idea if you were to turn these into bars rather than a cereal)

Preheat oven to 325. Mix all ingredients and pat down in 8×8 baking dish. I find pyrex works best as the granola can stick, and taking a metal spatula to a glass dish is pretty risk free. Bake 30-35 minutes. Let cool 1 hr. Try not to eat too much as you break it up and remove.

Makes approximately 6 servings. Around here, we pile 1/4 cup of blueberries and pour milk onto our granola.

Or, of course just nibble away.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wheat Belly Granola. Tweaked.

  1. Anna says:

    Would this work without the almonds? I never have almonds on hand!

  2. Ashleigh says:

    I’m sure…but you would have to substitute an equivalent of something else…another nut/seed (seeds would be SO good!), maybe a gluten free rice cereal (yummy crunch but it would make it lighter), or otherwise. If you add more dried fruit it would get quite sweet – that would be my only feedback. Happy baking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

