The Sequel

This time it was at Costco.

Again, it happened at the till. (I have a knack it would seem with these cashiers!)

She scanned our items, took one look at Makeda and then the two boys. She looked at them hard – kindly, but it was a good long look.

After glancing back at the babe she looked at the six year old and asked “is she your sister?“. Ummmm, well yeah she’s ours, I wanted to say but allowed him a moment to nod his head in affirmation. They are both quite proud and to this day that phenomenon has not lessened.

She’s beautiful” she continued. (Everything in me wanted to scream: I know, isn’t she?!?!?? But I refrained. She was seemingly sweet and there was a herd of other consumers behind us. Did I mention it was 3:30pm on a Friday?!)

And then she said it…

They all have the same eyes.”

And all I wanted to do was reply “yes, they have their father’s eyes“.

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Sequel

  1. joanne holland says:

    love those beautiful, long awaited pearly whites….she’s gorgeous….

  2. Jen says:

    Hi Ashleigh, you might not remember me,Jen, I teach Mother Goose in Crofton and you and your boys came a few years ago when you were somewhere along your adoption journey! I think we met a gain a couple of times. Anyway, I found your blog through facebook I think and thought ” I know her!” so I started reading and I always check in regularly. I love to hear about your family and also all your great recipes, I think we’re a lot alike in how we feed our families 🙂 Just thought I’d say Hi!!

    • Ashleigh says:

      Hi Jen,
      Of course I remember you!! Thank you so much for leaving a comment! I always wondering who (or if anyone!) 🙂 is reading along. If you ever have any great recipes let me know!…I’m always on the hunt for new great finds.
      Take good care,
      Ashleigh

Leave a Reply

