Paleo Pancakes

When there’s an adult lacking at supper time due to a meeting or an out of town business trip, meals…well, they can fall short. On a ten day stint last week I did my best to ensure they were all balanced and not all lunch or breakfast for suppers. I did pretty well. I made it to night five before drifting to our go-to: Pancakes.

I wanted to eat them though. And I really wanted to make them super healthy and completely grain free. I’ve come to realize…and I understand I’m a little slow on the uptake here, that what I deem and anticipate to be what my gut tells me is good is not far off the Paleo style of eating. This also means it’s not far off Weston A. Price or Wheat Belly or even GAPS a little. While not identical, they all follow a similar style of eating, nutrition, and foundation for caloric intake. And, interestingly enough while I’ve had people say to me for years, “so you can’t eat wheat and you can’t have corn so what the heck do you eat“. My reply has always been: I eat what grows and isn’t processed…veggies, fruit, nuts, meat. I’m not a huge fan of cheese (feta is the exception here) and milk is in my coffee (which I will give up over my dead body…try me). I get calcium in other forms. Lots. Without trying I have simply listened to my insides (and when I’ve failed it has retaliated in nasty ways)…and I find this quite impressive.

Tonight. It was a pajama wearing, coffee drinking, (blogging!), Wii playing kind of day. It was truly a sabbath amidst the lacking of one integral member of our family, the haste and insanity this zoo life sometimes brings, and it was a quiet breath (often interrupted with screams of delight and otherwise) in which I took full advantage. And so, in keeping with the tone of the day pancakes were in order for supper. The “old” no fail recipe just didn’t give me that warm fuzzy feeling tonight so I branched out. Having just finished a batch of sweet potatoes for the babe earlier this afternoon, I made use of the abundance of natural, nutritional sweetness.

I made Paleo Sweet Potato Pancakes with…oh yeah…Maple, Pecan Coconut Butter. (Except I didn’t have any maple syrup so it was Honey, Pecan Coconut Butter.)

And I am forever changed.

Rich? – maybe a bit.

Delicious? – oh mama.

Healthy? – they were, thanks for asking.

Gobbled up? – but of course.

The recipe I found and tried was here…and incidentally, I’ve recently joined a 12 week bootcamp which is fantastic and is taking the cut in my bicep region (or where the bicep should have been) to a new level. It’s a CrossFit kick in the butt (which I didn’t know when I initially signed up – it was more for social purposes) and wow…I highly highly recommend CrossFit…ah hem, especially now that I know what it is and how truly awesome it is. I have always run, always. But this is different. This is a fantastic addition.

{waiting for supper can be hard…unless you stand on your head…that makes it easier}

Okay, to the recipe. I altered it to fit our family and, well, our pantry. You’re shocked, I know.

Paleo Sweet Potato Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup sweet potato (roasted as is done for the babe)* and smashed
  • 1/2 cup almond butter (I used peanut butter as we were out of almond)
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1 tsp each baking soda and powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon (we used apple pie spice)
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • coconut oil (for greasing the pan)

Honey Pecan Butter (Sauce)

  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 3 tbsp chopped, toasted pecans
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 pinch nutmeg

Directions:

Throw all ingredients into blender and let ‘er go. Batter should be runny and thin. I was able to pour the batter right onto the pan. Melt coconut oil on pan over medium heat (before pouring batter). Allow to cook 3 mins each side or until centre of pancake begins to bubble. Because these sweet cakes don’t have anything other than eggs to bind them, I found the smaller ones easier to flip.

To make the topping, melt butter, pecans, honey and spices together.

*we cut our sweet potatoes in half and roast them laying the flesh side down. add a little water to the pan (and continue to do this fit he water dried during roasting). bake at 375 for approximately 45 minutes, depending on the thickness of the sweet potato. peel back skin as soon as possible after removing the sweet potato from the oven. mash with a fork once cooled.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paleo Pancakes

  1. L-Jay Health says:

    thanks for providing the recipe, I love pancakes but dont eat them because of the ingredients. now i can make these!!!

  2. Katie says:

    awesome – I love pancakes for supper! 🙂 D is following a mostly paleo diet as well – he makes yummy coconut pancakes, but these sounds awesome as well so we’ll have to try them!

Leave a Reply

