Chickpea Cookies!

In an attempt to continually create new, healthy (!) treats for the family – and to be honest, who doesn’t need a little motivation for the kids to finish supper some nights – chickpea cookies have been on the brain recently. I’ve seen several recipes ranging from simply including chickpeas (but not necessarily deviating from a normal cookie sugar additive) to others which have included honey, maple syrup, and stevia.

I’ll claim no great understanding on stevia, save the few articles I’ve read. But, personally when it comes to sweeteners I keep it simple around here. Perhaps someday I’ll be at the market and for the sake of trying it, I’ll grab a bottle from the shelf. For now, I’ll at least pretend I’m better off not knowing the difference. Plus, we don’t need to set up kiddie taste buds to continually crave that (sweet) flavour, right?! Less is more. (I know this because after five years of ensuring our kids avoided ketchup – and they’ve each only had it once in their five and six and a half years on earth – in a pinch to get him to eat something he really didn’t want to, in an attempt to be polite at a friend’s house last week, I offered our five year old ketchup. I thought it would be a treat. I thought it would get his not-so-favourite-lunch down. Wrong. He. Gagged. He then proceeded to eat the rest of his lunch, ensuring nothing touched the too-sweet-for-his-taste-buds condiment.)

I digress.

I found several Chickpea Cookie (and Chickpea Cookie Dough) recipes and settled on combining a few to our liking. They are classified acceptable in our house based on having little gluten (or gluten that could be replaced/substituted) and only a small amount of sweetener. Basically, if I didn’t feel it okay to feed them to our one year old then I wasn’t about to attempt them. I most appreciated the base of this site’s recipe but again, it did have sugar so I modified it.

A note on the gluten…I’m on a journey right now, it’s been a personal battle for many (!) years and as a family (especially us two old folk…you know, being in our thirties and all), we are cutting much of our gluten, wheat, carbs, etc. More on that in a post soon-to-follow.

Ours were simple, quick to whip up, and all the ingredients are staples so I didn’t have to plan ahead. The former is weighted pretty heavily as, the thought of lugging three small children in and out of a grocery store for a simple cookie ingredient really doesn’t seem worth it. Unless of course we’re experiencing some serious cabin fever. Then it’s absolutely worth it. Today, however, we are not.

Chickpea Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 cups chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
  • 1/2 cup organic peanut, almond, cashew butter (we had peanut kicking around)
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2-4 tbsp oats (for a completely gluten free recipe almond or coconut flour would be great here…I would bet flax meal would be yummy, too)
  • 1/4 tsp each baking powder and baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup extras (chocolate chips, raisins, chopped nuts, unsweetened coconut, etc)

Directions

Pulse chickpeas in a food processor (or grind them with a mortar and pestle if you live in our home). Add remaining ingredients except your extras. Continue to blend until relatively smooth. (You can imagine my method doesn’t get too smooth but we quite loved them with a bit of texture.) Mix in extras and place in small balls on a greased or parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Bake 10-15 mins in a preheated 350 oven.

Okay, so on the mortar and pestle. I’m not into having excessive kitchen stuff. If I had some sort of giant kitchen (and ours is a pretty good size), I may indulge in more small appliances. However, I’m also not into spending money on new things simply because they are new or pretty. Don’t get me wrong, when the blender shorted the other day and I thought I was in for a new one it’s not like I cried or anything. (It came back from the dead, if you’re wondering.) But I’m okay with using old (often ugly dated) small appliances. If they’re clean and they work then I’m game. I’m also not into having my counter covered. We get enough junk mail and bills (and artwork…oh, the preschool artwork) to cover the counters quite nicely. All that to say I don’t own a food processor, I have a small handheld beater/mixer, and my blender (if memory serves correctly) used to be my mother’s. Hence, the mortar and pestle. Which, in case you’re wondering worked great.

So, enjoy. Indulge. They’re pretty fantastic tasting and high on the fibre, protein, and health scales too!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chickpea Cookies!

  1. Sharon says:

    Papa uses stevia instead of other sweeteners. We are going to try to grow it this year. We have the seeds and when we go shopping again will get some soil to start them inside. Will be trying these gluten-free so I can have them too. Sharon

  2. Katie says:

    yum! I am absolutely going to try baking these this week! 🙂

  3. Candice says:

    I just made a batch of these and they are DEEEEELICIOUS!! Thank you so much for the recipe. I will definitely be making more. 🙂

  4. I am unable to thank you enough for the article.Much thanks again.

Leave a Reply

